Skin Saviour #3: Vitamin D and its effects on my acne


(freeimages.co.uk)

As I mentioned in my previous post, my naturopath helped determine that I had a severe vitamin D deficiency.

Vitamin D deficiency is apparently common for asian women with pale skin, and particularly for office workers that spend all day indoors. Research says that humans only need to spend 10 – 20 minutes in the sun everyday and expose their bare skin to get enough Vit D to maintain healthy levels.

Although I do try to get outside at lunch time, the reality of an office worker is that you go to work in the morning and come back home at night.

So what’s this got to do with acne?

Once I realised I had a lack of Vit D, i started doing some google research – naturally. I looked up terms like ‘acne and vit D link’ ‘vit d and pcos’ and found a lot of interesting information about PCOS and acne sufferers that had a Vit D deficiency too.

I truly believe that Vit D is another link in the chain to healthy hormones. Because of a lack of this crucial nutrient, my body wasn’t able to balance it’s hormones and thus caused cystic ovaries, and in turn acne.

How can I prove this? Well, as part of my regime, my naturopath prescribed me huge doses of Vit D. I think the daily recommended is 1000 IU, but I had to go get some specially-made Vit D capsules at a compounding chemist that were 20,000IU each. Please don’t go to the pharmacy yourself or start overdosing on Vit D without the proper consulation of a doctor.

After I took one dosage – my skin cleared up 90%. Within a few days my skin had a new radiance, my head felt clearer, it was like a ‘light’ had been switched on in my brain. I hadn’t realised how down I’d been feeling until I took my prescribed capsule.

I had to take a dose every 2 weeks for a few months, and I can attest to the fact that it:

  • Cleared my forehead acne in particular, but most of my face
  • Brightened my skin tone
  • Made me feel happier (dare I say?)
  • Increased my energy and sense of wellbeing

I now take smaller daily dosages of Vit D especially when I feel a little under the weather and like a cold/flu is coming on – it helps to nip it in the bud!

If you have acne that you suspect is caused by something internal (Well, all acne is internal) or hormones, you may want to try go to the doctor and request a blood test to  measure your Vit D levels. You never know, it may help!

xx A

PS: I also found that I was low in zinc – another important nutrient when dealing with acne. But more on that later…

Leave a Reply

